Neo, Chomsky, and Misfits in General

February 28, 2008 at 11:42 am (Popular Culture)

noam_chomsky.jpg“Either you repeat the same conventional doctrines every-body is saying, or else you say something true, and it will sound like it’s from Neptune.”

So says Noam Chomsky, and I concur.

I, for one, find it disturbing that I have to look over my shoulder to make sure the coast is clear before I voice any discomfort about our country’s killing of hundreds of thousands of innocent civilians in Iraq. I find it eerie that I have to speak in hushed tones about the driving force of our economy — greed — being a vice. I find it disheartening that the two “options” we will have to choose from in November merely represent different sides of the same corporately-owned, sabre-rattling coin.

Seeing the Matrix from without rather than from within is rather surreal and Orwellian.

Now if I could just remember this week’s official position on whether Oceania defeated Eurasia, or if it was the other way around….


 

3 Comments

  1. Kojak said,

    Wait… I’m confused. Didn’t Michael Douglas say, “Greed is good?” Are you saying it’s not? What kind of debased, half-baked notions are you espousing!?

  2. The Pundit said,

    As much as it pains me to disagree with Gordon Gecko, Kojak, I must humbly demur. I am a Durdenite through and through (sorry, The Dane, but I take Tyler more seriously than you seem to).

  3. Kojak said,

    Pastor Tyler as I prefer to call him. (Although… I’ve never thrown a punch in my life.)

Leave a Reply

